Each parent or guardian in the school is a member of the Parents’ Council. The Committee of the Parents’ Council represents the parents and currently has over 20 members. The Committee are elected annually at the AGM of the Council in October. The Parents’ Council undertakes a programme of events throughout the year. These include holding a reception for new infants and their parents at the commencement of the school year, organising a Halloween disco, a visit from Santa, a Christmas art competition and other fun activities.

Chairperson       Annabelle Normile

Secretary             Sarah Toomey

Treasurer            Jenny O’ Loughlin


The Committee’s most recent fundraising initiative was focused on the school’s new hall.  The funding was a joint venture between the Board of Management and the Parents’ Council. In June 2020, we were delighted to donate over €100,000 on behalf of the parents towards the construction of the hall.  This money was raised through parental contributions as well as fundraising.  We now have a wonderful amenity for our children.  As parents we have already seen the benefit of the hall for our annual Halloween Disco and Christmas Plays, while the children have benefitted from using the hall for assembly, sports and academic purposes.

Suggestions  from parents for educational, social and fundraising ideas can be sent to powerstownnsparentscouncil@gmail.com.

The Parents’ Council welcomes all new ideas and members! Don’t be afraid to get involved and we hope that we will be able to continue to work together to enhance our children’s time at Powerstown National School.

The Constitution of Parents Council